Published on 

Over €510,000 approved by Minister of State Kyne to support the non-Gaeltacht island communities

Sean Kyne TD, Government Chief Whip and Minister of State for the Irish language, the Gaeltacht and the Islands, has approved a grant of €490,087 to support the non-Gaeltacht island communities.

The funding will support the work of the community development companies on islands including Inishbofin in Galway, Clare Island and Inisturk in Mayo, Bere and Skerkin Islands in Cork, among others.

In addition to that, €22,700 has been approved for Comhar na nOileán Teo  to co-ordinate the delivery of the programme.

Speaking from Inis Oírr where he is meeting with local groups, Minister Kyne commented “I am delighted to be able to allocate nearly half-a-million Euro to support the local development companies which undertake such vital work for island communities.”

“In addition, the funding of €22,700 for Comhar na nOileán, located on Inis Oírr, will support the organisation to continue its work in managing this significant national programme on the islands.”

“I hope to be able to add to that funding in the future provided that the resources are available to do that,” concluded the Minister of State.