Published on 

Commencement of the latest PPP for the Schools Building Programme

Minister Brendan Howlin has warmly welcomed the announcement by his colleague Minister Ruairi Quinn TD that the latest Bundle of PPP schools has been signed off on by all partners and that work will begin on sites around the country on Monday. This will create and sustain important jobs in the construction sector.

Ministe Howlin said

‘I am very pleased that we have achieved sign off on the latest bundles of schools to be delivered using the Public Private Partnership model. This is the fourth bundle of schools to be delivered as a PPP and will provide some 5,700 places for pupils in 8 new schools throughout the country. It has taken some time to get agreement with all the partners on this projects and I would like to acknowledge the efforts of all those involved including the NDFA, the Department of Education and our funding partners the EIB and Bank of Ireland and the PPP Consortium Bam Ireland.

I particularly welcome the fact that Bam have aligned with a large Dutch Pension Fund to provide investment into this PPP. This is the first such agreement with Pension Funds in the European PPP market and I am delighted that it is not only the first Irish PPP to attract Pension fund investment but it is also the first in Europe. I hope that this innovative partnership approach will be adopted for future PPPs.

I also welcome the continued support and commitment of the EIB in the provision of our infrastructure. This commitment is an indication of their confidence in our PPP Market and in our track record of delivery of successful PPPs.

I look forward to working with them and others in the delivery of our new PPP programme. ‘


12th November, 2012

Notes for Editor

Schools Included in Schools Bundle 3 PPP

Third Bundle

The Bundle of schools was selected in 2010 and consists of 8 individual schools – 7 post primarys and a single primary - at the following locations:


Coláiste Ailigh, Letterkenny, Co Donegal: permanent school for the gaelcholáiste established in 2000 (350 pupils)

Ballinamore Community School, Co Leitrim: amalgamation of Fatima and Felim's Secondary School and Ballinamore Vocational School (400 pupils)

Doughiska Community College, Co Galway: new school for a rapidly growing population in the Doughiska area (650 pupils). It will be provided on a shared campus with the new primary school (see below)

Gorey, Co Wexford: new school for a rapidly growing population in the Gorey area (1,000 pupils)

Doon/Cappamore, Co Limerick Secondary School, Co Limerick: new school arising from the amalgamation of St. Fintan's Doon, St. Joseph's Doon and Colaiste Phobal Mhichil Cappamore (850 pupils)

Tramore Secondary School, Co Waterford: amalgamation of CBS Tramore and Stella Maris schools (1,000 pupils)

Athlone Community College, Co Westmeath: replacement for the current building (1,000 pupils)


Doughiska, Co Galway: new school for a rapidly growing population in the Doughiska area on same site as Doughiska Community College. (447 pupils)