Published on 

Minister Alan Kelly T.D. launches MyPay - payroll and superannuation shared service for local authorities

Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, Alan Kelly T.D., today (29 May, 2015) launched MyPay, the local authority payroll and superannuation Shared Service. MyPay provides services to local authorities from a single Shared Service Centre based in Portlaoise.
Speaking at the launch of the centre this morning, the Minister said that “the degree to which the local authority sector has embraced these changes is very encouraging and the speed with which new structures and practices have been put in place is inspiring. We should continue to embrace change for the better and continue to explore more imaginative and progressive ways of doing our business”.

Shared Services is a key element of the Government’s Public Service Reform Plan which also contains a range of other commitments for local government. A dedicated Project Management Office, set up as part of the Local Government Review Group, is leading the development of new methodologies and business practices which will deliver more efficient and effective public services.
Minister Kelly described the creation of MyPay as “a milestone event for local government reform and an exemplar for the entire Public Service”. In tracing the journey of MyPay’s development, he noted some key facts:
- There are 15 of the 31 local authorities live in MyPay at the moment with over 15,000 payees. This will rise to 55,000 payees when everyone is live.
- 200,000 individual payments have been processed to date with a value of just over €160M.
- It is envisaged that when the service is fully operational it will save approx. €4M per annum in the sector.
- A pilot consisting of Laois and Offaly County Councils commenced in October 2013 and completed successfully in January 2014.
- Wave 1 consisting of Longford, Westmeath, Roscommon and Leitrim commenced in April 2014 and was completed on schedule in July 2014.
- Wave 2 consisting of Galway County, Carlow, Monaghan and Cavan commenced in August 2014 and was completed on schedule in December 2014.
- Wave 3 consisting of Kildare, Meath, Kilkenny, Louth and South Dublin commenced in January 2015 and was completed on schedule in May 2015.
- Wave 4 consisting of Kerry, Tipperary, Wicklow, Waterford and Limerick is underway.