Download this page as a PDF

Who can vote in the UK referendum?

British, Irish and Commonwealth citizens over 18 who are resident in the UK, along with UK nationals living abroad who have been on the electoral register in the UK in the past 15 years can register to vote in the UK referendum on 23 June. Members of the House of Lords and Commonwealth citizens in Gibraltar will also be eligible, unlike in a general election. Citizens from EU countries - apart from Ireland, Malta and Cyprus - will not get a vote.

I'm Irish living in the UK, what do I need to do?

Irish citizens in the UK who wish to vote may register here.

I'm British living in Ireland, what do I do? 

The British Embassy in Dublin is recommending that UK Citizens living in Ireland register online before 16 May 2016. You can register via their website here or contact them via their website.  Additional information on voter registration and postal voting can be found on the UK Electoral Commission's website. There is also some useful information for overseas voters here

Information as of 27 April 2016