Published on 

Government nominates Mr Tony Murphy to the European Court of Auditors

The Government today nominated Mr Tony Murphy as the new Irish member of the European Court of Auditors. Mr Murphy is currently serving as a Director of the European Court of Auditors. Mr Murphy will succeed Mr Kevin Cardiff who completes his term of office in February 2018. 

Mr Murphy has over 30 years of experience in auditing both at national level in the Office of the Comptroller and Auditor General and at European level in the European Commission and the European Court of Auditors.

Mr Murphy was chosen following a competitive interview based on experience, skills and ability to perform effectively in the position.

The Government will convey Mr Murphy's nomination to the authorities in Brussels, following which a process of consultation with the European Parliament will be launched. This will include a hearing before the Budgetary Control Committee of the Parliament. Mr Murphy's nomination will subsequently go before the European Council for final approval.

Mr Murphy would then be expected to begin a six year term as of March 2018.

Mr Murphy's nomination follows a publicly advertised selection process. A Selection Committee (Secretary General to the Government; Secretary General, Department of Finance; Ms Justice Catherine McGuinness, retired Supreme Court Judge; and Mr Donal de Buitléir, Chairperson of the Low Pay Commission) considered expressions of interest and made a recommendation to the Government following a shortlisting process and competitive interview.