Published on 

New Presidents nominated for the Circuit and District Courts

At its meeting today, the Government nominated His Hon. Judge Raymond Groarke as President of the Circuit Court, and Judge Rosemary Horgan as President of the District Court. The Government will take the necessary steps to formally advise President Higgins of the nominations in accordance with Constitutional procedures. Both Presidents will serve a seven year term under the terms of section 4 of the Courts (No 2) Act 1997.

The vacancies arise as the terms of office of the serving Presidents (The Hon Mr. Justice Matthew Deery and Her Hon Judge Miriam Malone) expire with effect from today’s date.