Published on 

Minister Madigan announces appointment to Abbey Theatre Board

The Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Josepha Madigan, T.D. has announced the appointment to the Abbey Theatre Board of Mr. Peter Lowry, Fellow of Chartered Accountants Ireland and Managing Partner of Lowry Chartered Accountants.

The appointment, which is for a three year term ending on October 2021, follows a public call for applications on

Commenting on the appointment, Minister Madigan said:  “I wish Mr. Lowry the very best during his term and thank him for taking on such an important role”.

Notes to Editor:

The Abbey Theatre is Ireland’s National Theatre.  Inspired by the revolutionary ideals of its founders and its rich canon of Irish dramatic writing, the Abbey Theatre’s mission is to imaginatively engage with all of Irish society through the production of ambitious, courageous and new theatre in all its forms.  The Abbey Theatre commits to lead in the telling of the whole Irish story, in English and in Irish, and affirms that it is a theatre for the entire island of Ireland and for all its people.  In every endeavour, the Abbey Theatre promotes inclusiveness, diversity and equality.   Over the years, the Abbey Theatre has premiered the work of major Irish playwrights such as J.M. Synge, Sean O’Casey and Teresa Deevy, as well as contemporary classics from Sebastian Barry, Marina Carr, Brian Friel, Thomas Kilroy, Frank McGuinness, Tom Murphy and Mark O’Rowe.  In recent years, Irish and international audiences have enjoyed the plays of a new generation of playwrights: Stacey Gregg, Nancy Harris, David Ireland, Owen McCafferty, Phillip McMahon, Elaine Murphy, Michael West and Carmel Winters.

Although the Abbey Theatre is not a State Board, it has taken the decision to formally adopt the contents of the Code of Practice for the Governance of State Bodies, in order to ensure adherence to best practice.