Published on 

Minister Quinn establishes Student Grants Appeals Board

Education Minister Ruairi Quinn today established the inaugural Student Grants Appeals Board.

The Appeals Board was established under the Student Support Act 2011 and will be independent in the performance of its functions.

Its establishment will allow students that have applied for a grant under the 2011/12 student grant scheme and subsequent schemes to have any appeals determined by the Board.

Minister Quinn also announced appointments to the Board, which will comprise a Chairperson and six ordinary members all appointed in their individual capacity based on their knowledge and expertise.

The Minister said that he was delighted that Ms. Maureen Waldron, former Director of the Department of Social Protection, agreed to accept the position of Chairperson to the Board.

Ms. Waldron will be joined by Mr. Padraig McNamara (vice-Chair) former Chief Executive Officer of the State Examinations Commission; Dr. Marie Clarke, Head of Education at UCD; Ms. Rebecca Murphy, former Student Union Welfare Officer, University College Cork; Ms. Eithne Frost, Consultant in the Voluntary Sector; Ms. Brenna Clarke, retired Professor of English at St. Patrick’s College of Education; and Prof. Kevin Ryan, former Registrar of the University of Limerick.

Minister Quinn expressed his appreciation for the agreement of the members to participate on the Board.

The Minister said:

This is an historic development in the area of student grants and the experience and expertise that the members will bring to the process will be an important contribution to improving the grant experience for students