Published on 

Irelands best kept town - All Ireland winners announced at awards ceremony in Farmleigh House

The results of Ireland’s Best Kept Town competition were announced today (21 June 2011) by Mr. Fergus O’Dowd, T.D., Minister of State at the Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government. The Minister announced Moynalty, Co. Meath as the overall winner of the competition for 2011. The awards ceremony was held in Farmleigh House, Phoenix Park, Dublin. Minister O’Dowd was joined at the awards ceremony by Mr. Graham Seymour, Director of Natural Heritage at the Northern Ireland Environmental Agency, Miss Doreen Muskett, MBE, President of the Northern Ireland Amenity Council (NIAC) and Mr. Des O’Mahony, SuperValu Strategy Marketing Manager.

As well as winning the overall award, Moynalty also won the Best Kept Village category. Lismore, Co. Waterford won the Best Kept Small Town category, Cookstown, Co. Tyrone won the Best Kept Large Town Category and Coleraine, Co. Londonderry won the Best Kept Large Urban Centre category.

Minister O’Dowd paid tribute to the category winners and also to the other towns that had been nominated for today’s awards ceremony. “Congratulations to all four winners, and in particular to Moynalty for winning the overall title. Congratulations also to the other towns and villages nominated for today’s awards. Being nominated for the awards represents an achievement in itself, and is reward for your efforts in the TidyTowns and Best Kept competitions. These competitions continue to demonstrate the great pride that people have in their communities north and south of the border. Well done for your efforts and hard work, and I’m sure that you have great joy and pride in being here today.”

Mr. Graham Seymour speaking at the event said “For the many years that the Best Kept and Tidy Towns competitions have been in existence, communities North and South have been galvanising householders, shopkeepers, schools and others into action. Together they have helped to make towns and villages throughout Ireland more attractive places for the visitor and resident alike”

Miss Doreen Muskett MBE added “The towns competing in this years contest were already winners in the North's 2010 SuperValu Best Kept Awards and Tidy Towns in the South, so they already have had cause for celebration. These Awards, however, are the next level of competition and are very much sought-after. Judging is a difficult task when you are comparing the best towns and villages across Ireland, but there is a good natured spirit of competition among the entrants. We are delighted that Cookstown and Coleraine have been successful in this year's Awards.”

Mr. Des O’Mahony, SuperValu Strategy Marketing Manager said “SuperValu is delighted to sponsor the Best Kept Towns competition. At SuperValu see our organisations as the perfect fit because both celebrate the achievements of real people, making a real difference in their communities. The efforts made through Best Kept Towns are not just about the process of improving our local areas; it is about building community spirit, it is about team work, it is about a sense of pride and respect in what is around us, an awareness of how precious our natural environment is, and it is about realizing what we can do when we work together for a common goal.”

Note for Editor

Ireland’s Best Kept Towns competition has been running since 1995. It is a joint initiative of the Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government who run the TidyTowns competition in the South, and the Northern Ireland Amenity Council who run the Best Kept competition in the North. Towns and villages nominated for Ireland’s Best Kept Towns competition are those which have done well in the respective competitions. All entrants are marked against strict adjudication criteria that include cleanliness, the outward appearance of buildings, the presentation of roads and public facilities and the natural environment.

List of Nominated Towns and Villages 2011

Village Moynalty Co Meath

Village Scarva, Co Down

Village Stradbally Co Waterford

Village Tallanstown Co Louth

Small Town Ahoghill, Co Antrim

Small Town Kinsale Co Cork

Small Town Lismore Co Waterford

Small Town Moira, Co Down

Large Town Cookstown, Co Tyrone

Large Town Trim Co Meath

Large Town Tullamore Co Offaly

Large Urban Centre Coleraine, Co Londonderry

Large Urban Centre Malahide Co Dublin

Large Urban Centre Waterford City Co Waterford

List of Winners 2011

Best Village Moynalty

Best Small Town Lismore

Best Large Town Cookstown

Best Large Urban Centre Coleraine

Overall winner Moynalty, Co. Meath