Published on 

Government nominates Judges for appointment to the Supreme, Circuit and District Courts

At its weekly Cabinet meeting, the Government nominated The Hon. Ms. Justice Marie Baker for appointment by the President to the Supreme Court, Judge Rosemary Horgan for appointment by the President to the Circuit Court, and John Campbell, Solicitor, for appointment by the President to the District Court.

The vacancy in the Supreme Court arises from the retirement of the Hon. Mrs. Justice Susan Denham, the vacancy in the Circuit Court arose due to the retirement of His Hon. Judge Thomas Teehan and the vacancy in the District Court arose following the retirement of Judge Aingeal Ní Chondúin.

The Government has taken necessary steps to formally advise President Higgins of the nominations in accordance with constitutional practice.

Note for Editors:

Limited biographical details:

The Hon. Ms. Justice Marie Baker

  • Educated: University College Cork and the King’s Inn
  • Called to the Bar: 1984
  • Called to the Inner Bar: 2004
  • Has served as a Judge in the Court of Appeal since June 2018, previously served as a Judge on the High Court from 2014 to 2018,
  • Previously was a part time commissioner of the Law Reform Commission, and lectured in contract and commercial law.

Judge Rosemary Horgan

  • Educated: University College Cork
  • Enrolled as a solicitor 1979
  • Currently a Judge in the District Court. Former President of the District Court from 2012-2019,
  • Legal Aid Board 1980 to 1998
  • Former partner Ronan Daly Jermyn Solicitors.

John Campbell, Solicitor

  • Educated: Trinity College, University College Dublin, and  Dublin Institute of Technology
  • Enrolled as a solicitor 1988
  • Law Society of Ireland, solicitor in regulation department
  • Former principal solicitor in Campbell and Co.,
  • Former member of the Panel of Presiding Officers for the Garda Síochána Disciplinary Regulations and the Residential Institutions Redress Board.