Published on 

Government Statement on Nominations for Member of the European Commission

Following an incorporeal meeting of the Government, the Taoiseach has today written to the President of the European Commission, Ursula von der Leyen, to propose for nomination as Member of the European Commission Ms Mairead McGuinness, currently Vice President of the European Parliament, and Mr Andrew McDowell, until recently Vice President of the European Investment Bank. 

The Government believes that both are candidates of the highest calibre, possessing the necessary competence, independence and European commitment to serve in the role of Commissioner with distinction. 

In keeping with the provisions of the European Treaties, President von der Leyen will now consult with the European Parliament before the appointment of a new Commissioner is made by the Council, in common accord with the President of the Commission. 

The question of the allocation of roles within the Commission is also one for President von der Leyen. However, the Government firmly believes that both candidates have demonstrated that they have experience, skills and capacity to serve and to make a contribution in the most demanding roles.