Published on 

Minister Bruton Appoints Two New Commissioners to ComReg

Garrett Blaney and Robert Mourik appointed as Commissioners of the Commission for Communications Regulation

The Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment, Richard Bruton, T.D., today (Friday the 2nd of November 2018) announced the appointment of Mr. Garrett Blaney and Mr. Robert Mourik as Commissioners of the Commission for Communications Regulation (ComReg) following an open competition run by the Public Appointments Service.

Mr Blaney and Mr Mourik will join existing Commissioner, Jeremey Godfrey, bringing the Commission to its full complement of three Commissioners. Minister Bruton noted that the two successful candidates have considerable experience in the telecommunications and regulatory environment and will bring a range of experience to the important work of communications and postal regulation.

In addition to experience in the private and semi-private sectors, Garrett Blaney has occupied a leading role in economic regulation as Commissioner (including for a period as Chair) in the Commission for Regulation of Utilities since February 2010, as Chair of the ACER (the European Agency for Co-operation of Energy Regulators) and President of CEER (Council of European Energy Regulators). He also chaired Ireland's Economic Regulator's Network (ERN) and has considerable experience in engaging on issues regarding the evolution of effective economic regulation.

Robert Mourik has extensive national and international experience in a variety of senior strategic and regulatory affairs positions in the telecommunications sector as well as having worked in the Netherlands Ministry of Transport.

Minister Bruton said:

Mr Blaney and Mr Mourik will join Mr Godfrey in regulating what is an extremely fast moving sector at national, EU and international levels. Mr Godfrey will provide valuable continuity and insights, including from a European perspective, to inform the work of the new Commissioner team. ComReg is facing into a challenging period and the organisation will require strong leadership to stay abreast of major developments in the digital ecosystem, to ensure an appropriate regulatory response to challenges and opportunities, and to proactively engage with the sector and consumers. Given his senior leadership experience in economic sectoral regulation, I am pleased to announce the appointment of Mr Blaney as ComReg Chairperson for a period of three years. 

I wish Mr Blaney and Mr Mourik the very best in their new roles and look forward to working with them in the future.

...Minister Bruton added.

Note to editors:
ComReg is statutorily independent in the exercise of its functions in accordance with section 11 of the Communications Regulation Act, 2002.

*In his role as Commissioner, Mr Godfrey is currently acting as Vice Chairperson of the Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications (BEREC), and in 2019 will be Chairperson, followed by resuming the position of Vice-Chairperson again in 2020.
BEREC was established in 2010, replacing the European Regulators Group for electronic communications networks and services. It aims to contribute to the development and better functioning of the internal market for electronic communications networks and services, through ensuring a consistent application of the EU regulatory framework and assisting the EE Commission and national regulatory authorities.​