Published on 

Public sector gears-up for new EU-wide data protection rules as Minister Dara Murphy hosts event for over 140 State and semi-State bodies

The Minister for European Affairs, EU Digital Single Market and Data Protection, Dara Murphy TD, today hosted an information seminar for public sector bodies, designed to assist them in their preparations for new EU-wide data protection rules, which will come into force in May 2018. Today’s event took place in the Round Room at the Mansion House, Dublin and was attended by over 260 representatives from over 140 State and semi-State bodies.
Speaking ahead of the event, Minister Murphy said: “Organisations, public and private, that handle personal data, have less than 18 months to prepare for new EU-wide data protection rules which will come into force in May 2018. Following agreement on the new EU General Data Protection Regulation earlier this year, we’re now very much in the implementation phase. Within Government, the Interdepartmental Committee on Data Issues, which I chair, is the key vehicle for preparations for the General Data Protection Regulation across Government Departments and for ensuring a consistent approach across the public sector.
“Central to our preparations for the new rules is to ensure that public sector bodies are aware of their new obligations and are encouraged to be pro-active in their preparations. That is what today’s event is about and I’m greatly encouraged by the very large turnout, with 269 representatives in attendance from 149 different organisations, which shows that we’re getting our message across.
Today’s event builds on two similar awareness raising events held earlier this year and last year, which were targeted at local authorities and the State and semi-State sector. Participants will hear directly from the Office of the Data Protection Commissioner, in terms of the expectations of the Office, as well from officials from the Department of the Taoiseach and the Department of Justice & Equality.
The Minister continued: “The new EU-wide rules, contain a number of additions and changes that apply specifically to the public sector. These are over and above the more general obligations under the Regulation around data security, access and use that apply across the board. For example, all public sector organisations will have to have a designated and qualified Data Protection Officer reporting into senior management.
As we increasingly move to streamline and improve how we deliver services right across the public service, with an ever greater adoption of innovative online solutions, it is really important that we build the appropriate data protection structures into these new processes. A major part of the work we all do in the Departments and agencies relies on personal data to greater or lesser degrees. People need to trust in our services and have confidence that their data will be secure and treated appropriately. We have a real opportunity to build on the work that is already being done across the public sector to make sure we have this trust and confidence.”

Note to Editors: 

1. The following is the list of State and semi-State bodies participating in today’s event:
1. Acquaculture Licences Appeal Board
2. Adoption Authority of Ireland
3. An Bord Pleanála
4. An Coimisinéir Teanga
5. An Garda Siochana
6. An Post
7. Athlone Institute of Technology
8. Bord Bia
9. Bord Na Mona
10. Broadcasting Authority of Ireland
11. Bus Éireann
12. Caranua
13. Central Bank of Ireland
14. Central Statistics Office
15. Charities Regulator
16. Citizens Information Board
17. Coillte
18. Commission for Energy Regulation
19. Commission to Inquire into Child Abuse
20. Commissioners of Irish Lights
21. Córas Iompair Éireann
22. Cork IT
23. Courts Service
24. DAA
25. DCU
26. Defence Forces
27. Department of Defence
28. Department of Education & Skills
29. Department of Finance
30. Department of Health
31. Department of Jobs, Enterprise & Innovation
32. Department of Public Expenditure & Reform
33. Department of Social Protection
34. Department of the Taoiseach
35. Department of Transport, Toursim & Sport
36. Dept Arts, Hetitage,Regional, Rural & Gaeltacht
37. Dept of Agriculture, Food & Marine
38. Dept of Arts,Heritage,Regional,Rural & Gaeltacht
39. Digital Hub Development Agency
40. Drogheda Port Company
41. Dublin Bus
42. Dublin City University
43. Dublin Institute of Technology
44. Dublin Port Company
45. Dun Laoghaire Harbour Company
46. Dundalk IT
47. DunLaoghaire Institute of Art Design & Technology
48. Economic & Social Research Institute
49. Educational Research Centre
50. Eirgrid
51. Electric Ireland
52. Employment Appeals Tribunal
53. Enterprise Ireland
54. Environmental Protection Agency
55. Ervia
56. Fáilte Ireland
57. Foras na Gaeilge
58. Garda Headquarters
59. General Register Office
60. GMIT
61. Grangegorman Development Agency
62. GSOC
63. Health & Safety Authority
64. Health Insurance Authority
65. Health Products Regulatory Authority
66. Health Research Board
67. HIQA
68. Horse Racing Ireland
69. Houses of the Oireachtas
70. Housing & Sustainable Communities (Housing Agency)
71. Housing Finance Agency
72. HSE
73. Iarnród Éireann
74. IDA Ireland
75. Inland Fisheries Ireland
76. Institute of Public Health in Ireland
77. Institute of Technology Tralee
78. Investor Compensation Company DAC
79. Irish Auditing & Accounting Supervisory Authority
80. Irish Aviation Authority
81. Irish Blood Transfusion Service
82. Irish Water Safety
83. IT Carlow
84. IT Tallaght
85. Law Reform Commission
86. Léargas - The Exchange Bureau
87. Legal Aid Board
88. Letterkenny IT
89. Local Government Management Board
90. Loughs Agency
91. Marine Casualty Investigation Board
92. Marine Institute
93. Mary Immaculate College, Limerick
94. Medical Bureau Road Safety
95. Medical Council
96. Mental Health Commission
97. National Archives
98. National Asset Management Agency
99. National Council for Curriculum & Assessment
100. National Council for Special Education
101. National Milk Agency
102. National Paediatric Hospital Development Board
103. National Transport Authority
104. National Treasury Management Agency
105. National Treatment Purchase Fund
106. NESC
107. NSAI
108. Office of Government Procurement
109. Office of Ombudsman & Information Commissioner
110. Office of the Data Protection Commissioner
111. OPW
112. Ordance Survey Ireland
114. Peoplepoint
115. Personal Injuries Assessment Board
116. Port of Galway
117. Property Registration Authority
118. Property Services Regulatory Authority
119. PSI - The Pharmacy Regulator
120. Public Appointments Service
121. Residential Tenancies Board
122. Revenue Commissioners
123. Road Safety Authority
124. Royal Irish Academy
125. RTE
126. Science Foundation Ireland
127. Sea Fisheries Protection Authority
128. Shannon Group plc
129. Skillnets Ltd
130. Sport Ireland
131. Sport Ireland's anti doping unit
132. St. Angelas College, Sligo
133. State Examinations Commission
134. Strategic Banking Corporation of Ireland
135. Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland
136. Teaching Council of Ireland
137. Teagasc
138. TG4
139. The Heritage Council
140. The Pensions Authority
141. The State Laboratory
142. Transport Infrastructure Ireland
143. Trinity College Dublin
144. University of Limerick
145. Valuations Office
146. Veterinary Council of Ireland
147. Waterford Port Company
148. Workplace Relations Commission